London District Communist Party has called for former Labour MPs who have resigned to join the so called Independent Group to resign their seats and stand in a by-election. Noting that three of the MPs Joan Ryan, Chuka Ummuna, and Mike Gapes represent London constituencies Steve Johnson Secretary of London CPB pointed out that all were elected on a left-wing anti-austerity Labour manifesto which included a commitment to accept the EU referendum result.

The voters in their constituencies have a right to be represented by someone committed to the manifesto they voted for. It is clear however that this so called initiative to create a centre ground is nothing more than an attempt to recreate New Labour with support for the politics of austerity, privatisation and imperialist wars of intervention.

Recognising the neo-liberal nature of the EU London Communists urged support for a series of public meetings calling for a People’s Brexit including one in London on Monday 4th March 7pm at the Marx Memorial Library.


Communist Party of Britain